Visiting An Artist/Photographer’s Studio

Hello guys! On November 3rd, my professor decided to do class a little differently than the usual routine. He wanted each of us to head out to the downtown area of Jacksonville to visit the studio of a famous artist and photographer.

I was already excited about the whole trip and I managed to get a ride from two classmates to the area where the studio was located. Upon entering through the door, I was immediately reverted back to a little kid going on a field trip to a wondrous place.

1103151234

The studio was amazing! It was stocked with not just photos done by the photographer, but huge pieces of art and some paperwork. Not to mention, there were tons and tons of photo paper, matting boards and props!

1103151234a

1103151225

But the best part about the whole visit? I got to see the photographer himself: Doug Eng!!!!!

I wasn’t able to get a photo of him unfortunately, but I took photos of his huge studio and he took time out of his schedule to speak with myself and the class about how we can get a jump start in becoming photographers, whether it be publishing work in books and magazines or selling our work in galleries and museums.

All in all, it was a great experience and I would love to visit him again someday. For now, I simply check out his website and other places his work has been featured in. I highly recommend checking his work out yourself!

What about you? Have you ever been to a famous artist or photographer’s studio for the first time?

Doug Eng Website: http://dougengart.com/

Leave a Reply

